search sponsored by

Find more about Weather in Hartsville, SC
              Click for weather forecast

weather sponsored by
  • Opinions

Opinions

Political correctness out of hand

on Tuesday, 17 October 2017. Posted in Letters to the Editor, Opinions

America: home of the brave, land of the offended. If the only reason Glenn Odom was asked to resign from Florence School District 1 board of directors is because he used the term darkie, shame on them. Since Glenn Odom has been on the board for over 25 y

Racist scum? Colleges should set higher standards

on Tuesday, 17 October 2017. Posted in Editorials, Opinions

By Richard Eckstrom S.C. Comptroller I believe that most Americans are repulsed by racism. Unfortunately, their feelings of repulsion are often exploited for political gain. Especially now, in a time of hyper-racialization, the rush to frame all issues i

These are some of my favorite quotes

on Tuesday, 17 October 2017. Posted in Columns, Opinions

I’d like to share a few of may favorite quotes which I have been collecting as I come across them. This above all; to thine own self be true. Happiness is where we find it, but very rarely where we seek it. William Shakespeare The greatest leader is not n

Let’s make politics out of bounds on Sunday

on Tuesday, 17 October 2017. Posted in Editorials, Opinions

By Armstrong Williams When the referees in charge of NFL football games make questionable calls, a challenge can be issued, subjecting the decisions to closer review. The choice by President Trump to attack a group of our nation’s top professional athle

Treasurer shares college savings advice

on Tuesday, 10 October 2017. Posted in Editorials, Opinions

By Curtis Loftis Throughout my seven years in office, I’ve spoken with countless South Carolina parents about one of their biggest concerns: paying for their child’s college education. Though the price tag of college can subject anyone to sticker shock,

NFL, flag and police brutality issue is a hoax

on Tuesday, 10 October 2017. Posted in Letters to the Editor, Opinions

The mainstream media and the progressive left have created a completely false narrative regarding the disrespect of the national anthem and the American flag as a protest against police killings of black victims and have painted the entire law enforcement

Florence, a great place to call home

on Tuesday, 10 October 2017. Posted in Columns, Opinions

I hope you’ve noticed the new question we added to our weekly ‘Neighbors’ feature, appearing on our front page. “What do you like about Florence?” was added this month in conjunction with the city’s promotion of its new brand “Full Life. Full Forward. F

The Russia-blamers

on Tuesday, 10 October 2017. Posted in Editorials, Opinions

By Thomas L. Knapp “Russian operatives used Facebook ads to exploit America’s racial and religious divisions,” the Washington Post claims in a September 25 headline. Over at The Daily Beast, Dean Obeidallah explains “How Russian Hackers Used My Face to S

Must be present to win

on Tuesday, 03 October 2017. Posted in Faith, Opinions

“Let us not give up meeting together, as some are in the habit of doing, but let us encourage one another-and all the more as you see the Day approaching.” Hebrews 10:25 By Kaye Singleton June, 2016 we went on a cruise to Alaska. It was simply fabulous.

Drug overdose a leading cause in accidental death

on Tuesday, 03 October 2017. Posted in Letters to the Editor, Opinions

According to the American Society of Addiction Medicine, the leading cause of accidental death in 2015 was drug overdose. The life toll from the drug epidemic has been consistently growing over the past couple of years with opiate addiction and overdose b

AG Wilson issues opinion on nuclear plant

on Tuesday, 03 October 2017. Posted in Editorials, Opinions

COLUMBIA – South Carolina Attorney General Alan Wilson released an opinion last week that the law at the heart of the failed nuclear reactors that were being built by SCE&G and Santee Cooper is “constitutionally suspect.” Four state House members requeste

We can always be sure of death and taxes

on Tuesday, 03 October 2017. Posted in Columns, Opinions

There’s an old saying attributed to Benjamin Franklin: “...in this world nothing can be said to be certain, except death and taxes.” In light of the discussions in Congress about lowering taxes, maybe our elected officials should consider abolishing some

Clearance backlog threatens national security

on Tuesday, 03 October 2017. Posted in Editorials, Opinions

By Michael James Barton Right now, more than 500,000 federal employees and government contractors are awaiting security clearances. That poses a serious threat. The enormous backlog of clearance applications prevents talented analysts, engineers, and cod

What is an Exchange Traded Fund

on Tuesday, 03 October 2017. Posted in Editorials, Opinions

Exchange traded funds, also known as ETFs, are among the fastest-growing investment products in the financial services industry. Their popularity is due to the unique benefits that the ETF structure offers investors. ETFs are versatile trading and investm

My hiding place

on Tuesday, 26 September 2017. Posted in Letters to the Editor, Opinions

“Thou art my hiding place; thou shalt preserve me from trouble; thou shalt compass me about with songs of deliverance.” Psalm 32:7 (In the King James Version of the Holy Bible.) As a child I remember playing Hide ‘n Seek. I am the oldest of eight and we
[12 3 4 5  >>