search sponsored by

Find more about Weather in Hartsville, SC
              Click for weather forecast

weather sponsored by
  • Opinions

Opinions

Wilson High IB students speak out about gun violence

on Tuesday, 17 April 2018. Posted in Letters to the Editor, Opinions

By Bethany Williams Wilson High student On March 14, a nationwide school walkout was held to protest gun violence in schools. This protest, coming in response to the school shooting in Parkland, Florida on Feb. 14, aimed to shed light on an issue that is

Spring break in Washington

on Tuesday, 17 April 2018. Posted in Columns, Opinions

Taking my teen-age granddaughters to Washington, D.C., during their spring break seemed like a great idea. I wanted them to experience our nation’s Capitol and get a visual of this beautiful city and a better understanding what it is about. So, on April 3

Gas and oil re-invest tax windfall

on Tuesday, 17 April 2018. Posted in Editorials, Opinions

By David Williams President Trump’s recent tax overhaul has American CEOs feeling generous. Walmart and American Airlines are among the big companies giving employees bonuses of up to $1,000 each; Lockheed Martin is putting an additional $5 million towa

If you like waiting, you’ll love single-payer

on Tuesday, 10 April 2018. Posted in Letters to the Editor, Opinions

By Sally C. Pipes “Hello, 9-1-1? I think I’m having a heart attack.” “We’ll send an ambulance right away. It’ll be there in, uh, four hours.” That’s the reality for patients captive to the United Kingdom’s government-run healthcare system. And it’s what

Just a little trivia

on Tuesday, 10 April 2018. Posted in Columns, Opinions

Don’t worry about the male mosquitoes, only female mosquitoes will bite you. In the early stage version of “The Wizard of Oz,” Dorothy’s faithful companion Toto was replaced by a cow named Imogene. Dr. Seuss was challenged to write a book using no more th

Congress funds

on Tuesday, 10 April 2018. Posted in Editorials, Opinions

By Anna Johnson Center for Rural Affairs, annaj@cfra.org Last month, Congress passed its spending bill for this year, which funds the federal government through Sept. 30, 2018. We are glad to see that it provides support for rural America. First, Congres

Shouldn’t consumers be allowed to choose services they want?

on Tuesday, 03 April 2018. Posted in Editorials, Opinions

I feel sure you have noticed that some companies will spend enormous amounts of money advertising to get your business. The same companies will give you huge incentives to sign up or buy.....for a limited amount of time the discount will apply. But, they

Politicizing the FBI

on Tuesday, 03 April 2018. Posted in Letters to the Editor, Opinions

Now that pro-Hillary Deputy Director Andrew McCabe and Director James Comey have been fired, it’s a fresh start for the FBI. McCabe leaked information to the media and lied under oath. J. Edgar Hoover would fire an agent at the drop of a hat for lack of c

Will Rogers’ sentiments still valid

on Tuesday, 03 April 2018. Posted in Columns, Opinions

Although Will Rogers died in a plane crash in 1935, his witty comments and advice still seems appropriate 82 years later. Such as.... “Lord, the money we do spend on government! And it’s not one bit better than the government we got for one-third the mone

When ideology collides with good school governance

on Tuesday, 03 April 2018. Posted in Editorials, Opinions

By Dr. R.B.A. DiMuccio Should schools be focused on providing children with a good education in a safe environment or should they be laboratories of partisan political agitation? The answer, of course, should be obvious. The National School Boards Associa

Sunlight for the gas tax

on Tuesday, 27 March 2018. Posted in Letters to the Editor, Opinions

Toward the middle of each March, open-government advocates observe “Sunshine Week.” It’s used to raise awareness of the dangers of closed-door government and the importance of so-called “sunshine laws.” Sunshine laws, such as the S.C. Freedom of Informati

More good advice to live by

on Tuesday, 27 March 2018. Posted in Columns, Opinions

Following are some meaningful quotes that I have discovered and collected: The time is always right to do what is right. Martin Luther King Jr., 1929- 1968. God gave us the gift of life; it is up to us to give ourselves the gift of living well. Francois

What Switzerland has to do with your paycheck

on Tuesday, 27 March 2018. Posted in Editorials, Opinions

By Patrick Gleason President Trump recently traveled to the annual World Economic Forum in Davos, Switzerland to deliver a message: America is once again open for business. He found a receptive audience. Thanks to tax reform, foreign companies are giddy

Don’t let underage drinking ruin your prom

on Tuesday, 20 March 2018. Posted in Letters to the Editor, Opinions

Many teens dream of their high school years’ being full of traditional and memorable events. Few are as eagerly anticipated as Prom night and its associated rituals. Unfortunately many teens, and parents, feel that including alcohol with these events is

How many of these slogans do you know?

on Tuesday, 20 March 2018. Posted in Columns, Opinions

I’ve been seeing a lot of TV commercials lately for BDO. You know the slogan, “People who know, know BDO.” While it is a catchy slogan that is ingrained in my memory, I really don’t know BDO. So, I Googled it. I learned the network originally formed in 1
[12 3 4 5  >>